In recent years the International Standing Committee on Thermochronology has awarded the Dodson and Laslett prizes to recognize accomplishments by members of the community, and has always given awards to students who make the best presentations at the Thermo meetings. Starting in 2018, we began awarding the Charles and Nancy Naeser Prize for early-career thermochronologists. More information about the awards can be found below.

Nominations for these prizes are welcome, but are due well before the relevant Thermo meeting at which the prizes will be awarded. Please contact Suzanne Baldwin for information about how to submit nominations and what materials are required.

Awards Subcommittee of the ISCT. The ISCT maintains this subcommittee, which is chaired by a member of the ICST but can include members from the community and the ISCT itself. Current members are:

  • Suzanne Baldwin (Chair)
  • Roderick Brown (past Chair)
  • Cécile Gautheron
  • Rich Ketcham
  • David Shuster
  • Conny Spiegel


2020 Laslett Prize to Diane Seward and Barry Kohn

The Laslett prize is awarded by the International Standing Committee on Thermochronology to a person(s) deemed to have made an extraordinary contribution to the field of fission track thermochronology. The prize is named after, and was conceived to honor, Geoff Laslett a pioneer of quantitative fission track analysis and an outstanding scientist and statistician. The 2020 Laslett Prize is awarded to Diane Seward and Barry Kohn in recognition of their sustained, enormous scientific contributions to fission track thermochronology and its application across the breadth of the geosciences over the course of their careers. Working on tephra in the early 1970’s in New Zealand they learned fission track analysis together and have remained colleagues and friends since then. They have applied fission track analysis to resolve problems related to structural geology, sedimentology, basin analysis and tectonics. In addition to their scientific contributions, they have been highly valued advisors to many students, collaborators, valued mentors for early career scientists, and have supported many younger scientists in establishing their own rewarding careers in thermochronology. This award recognizes them both for their own research, as well as their role in helping our community to advance, and for being exceptional role models for our community.

2020 Dodson Prize to Richard Ketcham and Kerry Gallagher 

The Dodson prize is awarded by the International Standing Committee on Thermochronology to a person(s) for their extraordinary contribution to the field of thermochronology and/or to the international community of thermochronologists. The prize was conceived and named in honor of Martin Dodson, the pioneer of quantitative thermochronology. The joint recipients of the 2020 Dodson Prize are Richard Ketcham and Kerry Gallagher in recognition of their long term, extraordinary contributions to make mathematically robust, yet user-friendly thermal history modelling tools available to the thermochronology community. Their continuous software development (e.g., Monte Trax, AFTSolve, HeFTy, and QTQt), incorporating fission track and (U-Th)/He data, has provided programs used by thermochronologists globally to derive thermal histories.

2020 Charles and Nancy Naeser Prize to William Guenthner

This prize is awarded by the International Standing Committee on Thermochronology to an early career scientist who has made an outstanding and/or innovative contribution in any area of the field of thermochronology. The award is named in honor of Charles and Nancy Naeser in recognition of their groundbreaking fundamental work in the field of thermochronology over many years. The 2020 Charles and Nancy Naeser prize is awarded to William Guenthner in recognition of his contributions to the development of the zircon (U-Th)/He method, including the role of radiation damage on the kinetics of He diffusion in zircon. His research combines laboratory experiments with field methods and modeling to understand long-term thermal histories of orogenic belts and cratons, as well as detrital zircon.